top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristopher Tay

Value for Money Advice

Interested to land a job in Equity Investments/Financial Advisory? Want to learn how to value a stock or do a DCF to improve at work? Need to impress the interviewer?


As someone who started as an outsider, I know the pain and confusion at the beginning of the journey (i.e. infinite tabs opened on Chrome and countless dead-end Investopedia articles). I definitely could have used a teacher/mentor when prepping for my interviews during my uni days, and owe a lot of my development to all my teachers at PwC.


Now I want to save you the frustration and time-wasting and accelerate your development. Get a download on practical things you need to know and where to focus. For Equity Investments, I will help you with idea generation to due diligence to the ultimate valuation and pitch of an idea. For Financial Advisory, I will help you on how to use the various valuation methods (DCF/PE ratios) and how to defend your assumptions.


Whilst it won't be free (time is the most precious resources we have), don't be overly worried with fees. I am more concerned with helping as many people as possible, so they can land that job offer. See note below on fees.


I welcome anyone who is interested to pursue a career in investments/finance. Just reach out to me at +60128188632. Feel free to share this offer of help with anyone!


To keep costs low, I expect us to use a lot of video calls and WhatsApp with occasional face-to-face meetups, if need be.


P.S. Check out my equity discussions in my previous posts as well as on my LinkedIn here (https://www.linkedin.com/in/christopher-t-89477b8a)


Testimonials

Chris helped to clarify a method of valuation (Sum of Parts), which has enabled me to better value companies. He explained the concept with real life examples, which helped me understand the method better. - Equity Analyst, Malaysian Asset Management Firm

Chris didn’t only inspire me for my first stock analysis/pitch but was also a great sounding board. My discussions with Chris helped internalise the core concepts behind the Earnings Power Value method. This sharpened understanding of EPV has allowed me to push my boundaries and add my own twist to the art of valuation. - Senior Associate, Big4 Financial Advisory

Chris guided me on a stock pitch valuation model. He helped me understand and make reasonable assumptions for the valuation. - Student, London School of Economics

Professional background: Having graduated with a non-traditional degree, I was an outsider to the finance industry. The people at PwC Valuations were kind enough to take me in and showered me with guidance and wisdom, especially on how to value companies. After a stint at AmInvestment Bank, I now work at Cairnsmore Capital, a value fund run by an ex-Navis fund manager. Currently a CFA Level III candidate.


Teaching experience: Besides informal sessions with friends who seek feedback/advice on anything finance, I was a Mathematics tutor during my A-Levels and uni days. Also coached my high school basketball team.


Note on fees: Will depend on your socioeconomic background. I want to remain accessible to anyone interested. What I promise is that you will get the best bang for your buck e.g. saving time on learning and getting that job offer vs the initial investment (ie my fees).



315 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Introduction and First Post

I'm starting this blog mainly as a resource I wish I had when I started learning about investing. I will post some of my investment ideas...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page